If you had to choose…

I was recently asked the question, “If you had to choose between being deaf or blind for the rest of your life, which would you choose?”

I thought a lot about it.

If I were blind, I would never be able to see another beautiful sunset. I wouldn’t see the face of the person I would eventually marry. I would never be able to take a drive or cook a meal. I couldn’t watch my future children play. I wouldn’t be able to see the stars light up the night sky.

Even after thinking about all of the things I would miss if I were blind, I’d choose that over being deaf.

Why?

Because, if I were deaf, I would never be able to listen to music again. I’d never get to hear my loved ones laugh. I wouldn’t be able to listen to the waves as they roll along the shore.

And I wouldn’t be able to cope with that.

Leave a Reply

